UPSTREAM: mm: remove gup_flags FOLL_WRITE games from __get_user_pages()

This is an ancient bug that was actually attempted to be fixed once
(badly) by me eleven years ago in commit 4ceb5db9757a ("Fix
get_user_pages() race for write access") but that was then undone due to
problems on s390 by commit f33ea7f404e5 ("fix get_user_pages bug").

In the meantime, the s390 situation has long been fixed, and we can now
fix it by checking the pte_dirty() bit properly (and do it better).  The
s390 dirty bit was implemented in abf09bed3cce ("s390/mm: implement
software dirty bits") which made it into v3.9.  Earlier kernels will
have to look at the page state itself.

Also, the VM has become more scalable, and what used a purely
theoretical race back then has become easier to trigger.

To fix it, we introduce a new internal FOLL_COW flag to mark the "yes,
we already did a COW" rather than play racy games with FOLL_WRITE that
is very fundamental, and then use the pte dirty flag to validate that
the FOLL_COW flag is still valid.

BUG=chromium:657609
TEST=kernel compiles

Reported-and-tested-by: Phil "not Paul" Oester <kernel@linuxace.com>
Acked-by: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Willy Tarreau <w@1wt.eu>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com>
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
(cherry picked from commit 19be0eaffa3ac7d8eb6784ad9bdbc7d67ed8e619)

Change-Id: I8c14b5c08c28917a545305a59d313f2ddc11ea57
Reviewed-on: https://chromium-review.googlesource.com/400096
Reviewed-by: Guenter Roeck <groeck@chromium.org>
Commit-Queue: Andrey Ulanov <andreyu@google.com>
Tested-by: Andrey Ulanov <andreyu@google.com>
2 files changed