blob: a2cf8c68cc9a24490870f9ec3b51e7ec8741c743 [file] [log] [blame]
Django was originally created in late 2003 at World Online, the Web division
of the Lawrence Journal-World newspaper in Lawrence, Kansas.
The PRIMARY AUTHORS are (and/or have been):
Adrian Holovaty <http://www.holovaty.com/>, who originally created Django with
Simon and currently oversees things with Jacob.
Simon Willison <http://simon.incutio.com/>, who originally created Django with
Adrian during his year-long internship/placement at World Online and currently
helps from the sidelines.
Jacob Kaplan-Moss <http://www.jacobian.org/>, who joined the team shortly
before Simon departed and currently oversees things with Adrian.
Wilson Miner <http://www.wilsonminer.com/>, who designed Django's admin
interface, pretty error pages, official Web site (djangoproject.com) and has
made many other contributions. He makes us look good.
Malcolm Tredinnick <http://www.pointy-stick.com/blog/>, who has made
significant contributions to all levels of the framework, from its database
layer to template system and documentation.
Georg "Hugo" Bauer <http://hugo.muensterland.org/>, who added
internationalization support, manages i18n contributions and has made a ton
of excellent tweaks, feature additions and bug fixes.
Luke Plant <http://lukeplant.me.uk/>, who has contributed many excellent
improvements, including database-level improvements, the CSRF middleware and
unit tests.
Russell Keith-Magee <freakboy@iinet.net.au>, who has contributed many excellent
improvements, including refactoring of the Django ORM code and unit tests.
Robert Wittams <http://robert.wittams.com/>, who majorly refactored the Django
admin application to allow for easier reuse and has made a ton of excellent
tweaks, feature additions and bug fixes.
And here is an inevitably incomplete list of MUCH-APPRECIATED CONTRIBUTORS --
people who have submitted patches, reported bugs, added translations, helped
answer newbie questions, and generally made Django that much better:
adurdin@gmail.com
Andreas
andy@jadedplanet.net
ant9000@netwise.it
David Ascher <http://ascher.ca/>
Arthur <avandorp@gmail.com>
Jiri Barton
Ned Batchelder <http://www.nedbatchelder.com/>
Shannon -jj Behrens <http://jjinux.blogspot.com/>
Esdras Beleza <linux@esdrasbeleza.com>
James Bennett
Ben <afternoon@uk2.net>
Paul Bissex <http://e-scribe.com/>
Simon Blanchard
Andrew Brehaut <http://brehaut.net/blog>
brut.alll@gmail.com
Jonathan Buchanan <jonathan.buchanan@gmail.com>
Antonio Cavedoni <http://cavedoni.com/>
C8E
Chris Chamberlin <dja@cdc.msbx.net>
Amit Chakradeo <http://amit.chakradeo.net/>
ChaosKCW
Ian Clelland <clelland@gmail.com>
crankycoder@gmail.com
Matt Croydon <http://www.postneo.com/>
Jure Cuhalev <gandalf@owca.info>
dackze+django@gmail.com
Dirk Datzert <dummy@habmalnefrage.de>
Jonathan Daugherty (cygnus) <http://www.cprogrammer.org/>
dave@thebarproject.com
Jason Davies (Esaj) <http://www.jasondavies.com/>
Alex Dedul
deric@monowerks.com
dne@mayonnaise.net
Maximillian Dornseif <md@hudora.de>
Jeremy Dunck <http://dunck.us/>
Andy Dustman <farcepest@gmail.com>
Clint Ecker
Enrico <rico.bl@gmail.com>
Ludvig Ericson <ludvig.ericson@gmail.com>
Dirk Eschler <dirk.eschler@gmx.net>
Marc Fargas <telenieko@telenieko.com>
favo@exoweb.net
Eric Floehr <eric@intellovations.com>
Jorge Gajon <gajon@gajon.org>
gandalf@owca.info
Baishampayan Ghose
martin.glueck@gmail.com
Simon Greenhill <dev@simon.net.nz>
Owen Griffiths
Espen Grindhaug <http://grindhaug.org/>
Brian Harring <ferringb@gmail.com>
Brant Harris
Hawkeye
Joe Heck <http://www.rhonabwy.com/wp/>
Joel Heenan <joelh-django@planetjoel.com>
hipertracker@gmail.com
Ian Holsman <http://feh.holsman.net/>
Kieran Holland <http://www.kieranholland.com>
Robert Rock Howard <http://djangomojo.com/>
Jason Huggins <http://www.jrandolph.com/blog/>
Tom Insam
Baurzhan Ismagulov <ibr@radix50.net>
jcrasta@gmail.com
Michael Josephson <http://www.sdjournal.com/>
jpellerin@gmail.com
junzhang.jn@gmail.com
Antti Kaihola <http://akaihola.blogspot.com/>
Ben Dean Kawamura <ben.dean.kawamura@gmail.com>
Garth Kidd <http://www.deadlybloodyserious.com/>
kilian <kilian.cavalotti@lip6.fr>
Sune Kirkeby <http://ibofobi.dk/>
Bastian Kleineidam <calvin@debian.org>
Cameron Knight (ckknight)
Meir Kriheli <http://mksoft.co.il/>
Bruce Kroeze <http://coderseye.com/>
Joseph Kocherhans
konrad@gwu.edu
lakin.wecker@gmail.com
Stuart Langridge <http://www.kryogenix.org/>
Nicola Larosa <nico@teknico.net>
Eugene Lazutkin <http://lazutkin.com/blog/>
Jeong-Min Lee <falsetru@gmail.com>
Christopher Lenz <http://www.cmlenz.net/>
lerouxb@gmail.com
Waylan Limberg <waylan@gmail.com>
limodou
mattmcc
Martin Maney <http://www.chipy.org/Martin_Maney>
masonsimon+django@gmail.com
Manuzhai
Petar Marić <http://www.petarmaric.com/>
Nuno Mariz <nmariz@gmail.com>
mark@junklight.com
Yasushi Masuda <whosaysni@gmail.com>
mattycakes@gmail.com
Jason McBrayer <http://www.carcosa.net/jason/>
mccutchen@gmail.com
michael.mcewan@gmail.com
mikko@sorl.net
mitakummaa@gmail.com
mmarshall
Eric Moritz <http://eric.themoritzfamily.com/>
Robin Munn <http://www.geekforgod.com/>
Robert Myers <myer0052@gmail.com>
Nebojša Dorđević
Fraser Nevett <mail@nevett.org>
Sam Newman <http://www.magpiebrain.com/>
Neal Norwitz <nnorwitz@google.com>
oggie rob <oz.robharvey@gmail.com>
Jay Parlar <parlar@gmail.com>
pavithran s <pavithran.s@gmail.com>
pgross@thoughtworks.com
phaedo <http://phaedo.cx/>
phil@produxion.net
phil.h.smith@gmail.com
Gustavo Picon
Luke Plant <http://lukeplant.me.uk/>
plisk
Daniel Poelzleithner <http://poelzi.org/>
J. Rademaker
Michael Radziej <mir@noris.de>
ramiro
Brian Ray <http://brianray.chipy.org/>
remco@diji.biz
rhettg@gmail.com
Oliver Rutherfurd <http://rutherfurd.net/>
Ivan Sagalaev (Maniac) <http://www.softwaremaniacs.org/>
David Schein
scott@staplefish.com
serbaut@gmail.com
Pete Shinners <pete@shinners.org>
SmileyChris <smileychris@gmail.com>
smurf@smurf.noris.de
sopel
Georgi Stanojevski <glisha@gmail.com>
Thomas Steinacher <http://www.eggdrop.ch/>
nowell strite
Radek Švarz <http://www.svarz.cz/translate/>
Swaroop C H <http://www.swaroopch.info>
Aaron Swartz <http://www.aaronsw.com/>
Tyson Tate <tyson@fallingbullets.com>
Tom Tobin
Joe Topjian <http://joe.terrarum.net/geek/code/python/django/>
torne-django@wolfpuppy.org.uk
Karen Tracey <graybark@bellsouth.net>
Makoto Tsuyuki <mtsuyuki@gmail.com>
Amit Upadhyay
Geert Vanderkelen
viestards.lists@gmail.com
Milton Waddams
wam-djangobug@wamber.net
Dan Watson <http://theidioteque.net/>
Chris Wesseling <Chris.Wesseling@cwi.nl>
Rachel Willmer <http://www.willmer.com/kb/>
Gary Wilson <gary.wilson@gmail.com>
wojtek
ye7cakf02@sneakemail.com
ymasuda@ethercube.com
Cheng Zhang
A big THANK YOU goes to:
Rob Curley and Ralph Gage for letting us open-source Django.
Frank Wiles for making excellent arguments for open-sourcing, and for
his sage sysadmin advice.
Ian Bicking for convincing Adrian to ditch code generation.
Mark Pilgrim for diveintopython.org.
Guido van Rossum for creating Python.