The user account menu is located at the far upper-right of each Monorail page. When you are signed out, it offers a link to sign in. When you are signed in, it offers a menu with choices to switch users, access your user pages, or sign out. User pages include the user profile, updates, settings, saved queries, and hotlists.
Each Monorail user has a profile page that can be accessed at URL
/u/EMAIL or via their user ID number. You can access your own profile page through the account menu. You can click to access the profile page of any user who you see mentioned on an issue detail page as the issue reporter, owner, CC'd user, or a comment author.
The user profile page lists projects where that user has a membership. The profile page shows how long it has been since the user used that account to visit the site. Please note that some users have multiple accounts, so they may have visited more recently using a different account. Also, if the user has set a vacation message, that message is shown here.
Any project owner may ban a user from the site by clicking a button on the user profile page. This is one way that we fight spam and abuse.
Googlers who have an @chromium.org account may wish to link it to their @google.com account. These two types of accounts can be linked with one becoming the parent account and the other becoming the child account.
When accounts are linked:
Using the child account will display a reminder notice to switch to the parent account.
When signed in to the parent account, the user also has all permissions of the child account.
If both accounts would be listed in an autocomplete menu, only the parent account is listed.
If both accounts would be notified of an issue change, only the parent account is notified.
Searching using the
me keyword will match issues that reference either account.
To link accounts:
To unlink accounts: sign in as either account, use the account menu to navigate to your profile page, and click the
The settings page allows users to set user preferences for their account. You can navigate to the settings page by signing in and selecting
Settings from the account menu.
On that page you can set preferences that affect:
Privacy: How your email address is displayed to non-members.
Notifications: What triggers notifications to you and how they are formatted.
Community interactions: Opt into settings that help avoid accidental oversharing.
Availability: You can let other users know that you are away.
Site administrators can also view and change the settings for any other user on that user's profile page.
The user updates page lists recent activity by that user. This page can be reached by clicking
Updates in the account menu for your own updates, or via the
Updates tab on any user's profile page.
The list of updates includes new issue reports and comments posted on existing issues. Each row show how long ago the activity happened, which issue was affected, and the content of the change. You can click to expand each row to show more details.
The list of issue changes only includes rows for issues that the signed in user is currently allowed to view.
The user hotlists page lists hotlists that a user owns or can edit. This page can be reached by clicking
Hotlists in the account menu for your own hotlists, or via the
Hotlists tab at the top of any users profile page.
Clicking on a row in the hotlists table navigates to the list of issues in that hotlist. When viewing a hotlist, the hotlist owner and editors may rerank issues in the hotlist, and they may add or remove issues. Reranking issues in a hotlist is only possible when the issues are sorted by rank. Reranking is done by dragging a gripper icon up or down the list.
In the list of hotlists, only hotlists that the signed in user is allowed to view are shown. And, within a specific hotlist, only issues that the signed in user is allowed to view are shown.
Hotlists from the account menu.
Create hotlist button.
It is also possible to create a hotlist directly from an issue list, an issue detail page, or an existing hotlist page. See below for details.
A public hotlist can be viewed by anyone on the Internet, even anonymous users.
A members-only hotlist can only be viewed by the hotlist owner and members listed on the hotlist people page. You can add or remove people from your hotlist by clicking the
People tab at the very top of any hotlist page.
Hotlists do not affect issue permissions. The individual issues within a hotlist are subject to the normal permission checking for issues. If a user cannot view an issue, they will not see it listed in the hotlist, even if they can view or edit the hotlist itself.
There are several ways to do it.
Starting from an issue detail page, you can add the issue to one or more hotlists, or remove it:
Update your hotlists in the issue data column.
Project members can add multiple issues to hotlists by starting from the issue list page or an existing source hotlist:
Add to hotlist... in the action options above the issue list.
Starting from the list of issues in the target hotlist:
Add issues... from the actions above the issue list.
Settings tab at the very top of the page.
Delete hotlist and confirm the deletion.
You can delete your Google account at http://myaccount.google.com. If you do that, a few days later, Monorail will be notified of the account deletion. At that time, issues and comments posted by that account will be changed to indicate that the author is
a deleted user. The issues and comments themselves are your contribution to the project and they remain a part of the project.
If you wish to completely delete your Monorail account without deleting your Google account, please file an issue.